Date Night: Valentine Edition

Happy pre-Fri-yay, everyone! I can smell the weekend and a hint of warmer weather. 🌞 *throw hands up!

As earlier this week was the day of romance around the globe, I hope you all had a love/self-love-filled day! β€πŸ’•

For me and my boyfriend’s Valentine’s Day dinner, we went to a delicious local restaurant called The Boat House (if you’re ever visiting the Columbus area, I highly recommend – the view and food are both incredible). πŸŒƒπŸ₯‚ Overall, the atmosphere was calm, romantic and so enjoyable. Definitely not like a standard Max & Erma’s visit…. πŸ˜‰

All of the city lights feeling like we were literally on a boat house ✨ (+ Alex’s first appearance on le blog!)

I’m a lover of black. And I don’t say that lightly. While I love pattern and pops of color in my wardrobe, I can never get enough of black. I mean it’s such a staple, right?! Moreover, I’m a huge fan of all black outfits (all black errythang!). So for dinner, I wore this (out of my comfort zone) empire-waisted black and shimmery gold, velvet cut-out dress. I say it’s out of my comfort zone because I’d never even tried rocking an empire-waist and I’m not use to super low-cut tops in general.

Hints of gold + a bright burgundy lip stain

Black tights and grey velvet heels finished off the look with minimal gold jewelry. Yeah, I know grey maybe didn’t go with zee outfit, but since they were paired with all black, the heels appeared darker, which was prime! 

The details in the dress itself are gorgeous. There’s a sparkly gold underlay in the front and the bottom half of the back with tulle eyelets. Abercrombie & Fitch did a thang when they created this sassy dress! 

All outfit details:

  • Dress: A&F (keep your eyes peeled for one-of-a-kind dresses from them – I’ve snagged a few over the years!) 
  • Grey Velvet Pumps: Target
  • Lip shade: Kate Moss (by Rimmel London), number 30

What did you rock for the day of love? Did you throw in pops of reds and pinks to go with the day’s theme? β€πŸ’•πŸŒΉ

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, Xx

Author: maria.latour

A fashion blogger with peculiar & particular tastes; I simply share what I know & love. πŸ“Columbus, OH

Leave a Reply

